Two Online Games for Word Power

August 9, 2009 at 6:50 pm Leave a comment

If you’re teaching spelling, you’ll probably find something useful at the attractively designed Spelling City.

spellingicty

Plug in your spelling words, and then practice using a wide variety of Flash games (word search, match-it, hangman, an alphabetizing game, word-scrambles, sentence completion, missing letters, crosswords). The website will also create an audio Flash spelling test that says the word and a sentence so that you can type the correct spelling into a form. A fun way to practice spelling!

*  *  *

Boost your verbal-linguistic intelligence with Must Pop Words, the game that you’d get if your Scrabble board drank way too much Red Bull.

mustpopwords

Letter bubbles fall from the top of the screen; you type words as quickly as you see them, and the used-up letters disappear. You get points for the words, with opportunities for bonus points. As in Tetris, you’re trying to keep the screen from filling up. Addictive, infuriating, and awesome.

Entry filed under: FUN STUFF, IDEAS AND TOOLS.

Teacher Education, Teacher Practice Countdown

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.