Looking Ahead

January 3, 2011 at 11:24 am 1 comment

Today is the last day of my winter break. Tomorrow is a teacher work day, and Wednesday the kids return.

On Friday/Monday (block scheduling) we’re doing personal book presentations. Our independent reading program is going gangbusters, and while some kids are just refusing to participate at all, it’s being much more effective overall than my previous recreational reading efforts. Far more kids declined to do personal reading/reading logs last year. This year I’m actually getting some reluctant readers hooked on books, which is outstanding. It’s a high work demand on all of them, but as I’d hoped, they’re generally rising to the challenge.

Following that, we’re doing a Night unit for which I am moderately unprepared. I should have taken this break to re-read the book, I’m sure, but I did not. And heck, I’ve got this week, right? 😉 It’s kind of a loosy-goosy unit at our school, not the least of which because none of the sophomore teachers are exactly certain why we read it. I mean, we all believe that it’s a book that Should Be Read, and that tenth grade is a good time, but we’re not sure what greater language arts goal it serves. Perhaps I should figure that out before I try to teach it, huh.

But I do have a kickass introductory activity for Night that I’m hoping works well to address some of the lack of empathy about which I’ve been warned. I’ll describe it in more detail a little later, if I don’t forget….

And following that, we’re going to read Ender’s Game. And I am super excited for that. It’s technically a freshman book, but no one has taught it in the past, and I think it’s a Should Be Read book. It’s going to be a blast…

Then we’ll move into test prep (bleh) and finally into Midsummer Night’s Dream, and we’ll be hitting summer before you know it.

Aaaand I’m going back to school this semester, too, so that should be interesting.

Entry filed under: PLANNING AND DOING.

Not Sure What’s Best Lovely…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mrs. Chili  |  January 3, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    I’m teaching Night to my freshmen, probably sometime around March. I’m also a Holocaust scholar and a fellow at a center for Holocaust and genocide studies; if you need some help with Night, just let me know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




