Not Sure What’s Best

January 2, 2011 at 11:14 pm 3 comments

I’m an English teacher, and I love books, and I actually enjoy analyzing books. I think that being able to read between the lines and grasp the greater themes, the symbolism, the connections to the rest of the universe, is a valuable skill for humans. I don’t think it’s going to prove especially useful to every one of my students; some people don’t and never will enjoy thinking for themselves. But being able to appropriately decipher literature will open intellectual doors for many of my students.

That being said… I have doubts. I became an English teacher in great part because I thought it was a tragedy to hear people say that they’d never read a book, that they hated reading, that they couldn’t write. I thought that I could do some small part, in my small corner of the world, to change that. And I bring passion and enthusiasm to our examinations of literature; I show them why it’s fun, I hold open the door and shine a flashlight inside.

But am I just reinforcing the very thing I wanted to fight?

novels 
Saturday Morning Breakfast Cereal – Jan 2 2011

Entry filed under: BRAINCLOUDS, CLIPPINGS.

Head, Meet Desk Looking Ahead

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angela  |  January 3, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    I worry about that too.

    Reply
  • 2. M  |  January 3, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    I saw this comic yesterday and it actually made me laugh, mostly because we’re starting Gatsby next week. I think there has to be a fine line between discussing a novel and analyzing it to death. I would hope that I do more of the former, rather than the latter. There are obviously books that need to goes into the symbolism stuff, Gatsby for example, but part of me always wonders what we’re reading into and how much of what we discover is true and intentional.

    Reply
  • 3. Rachel  |  January 4, 2011 at 8:32 am

    I worry about that, too. In fact, this spurred me to reflect a little on why I do what I do, so I will probably have a little blog reflection of my own. Cross-post/credit will be given if so 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




