From the Mouths of Babes

October 11, 2010 at 11:26 pm Leave a comment

Grading short essays over Antigone. (This assignment turned out GREAT, btw; couldn’t be happier!)

This example wasn’t a particularly well-done essay, but I thought he hit the nail on the head for at least four sentences:

On page 222, lines 1045-1046 of Antigone, the Messenger is speaking to Creon: “Great calamity can come to a man through man’s perversity.” This means disasters can come to a man that is too stubborn. […] It is still relevant today; stubbornness can be a man’s downfall. For example, if a man today is addicted to something and he is too stubborn to quit, he will lose everything, his family, friends, everything.

You got that right, kid.

Entry filed under: ASSESSMENT, MISCELLANEOUS, STUDENTS.

Allied Forces Figuratively Speaking

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




