The Last Minutes

August 12, 2010 at 11:23 pm Leave a comment

Summer is almost over for those of us in the Rural School District. Teachers are going back on Monday, and we have two short days to get our acts together before the children descend. We’re returning to school a full fortnight before the Suburban School District and ten days before the Urban School District; it’s all because we revamped our calendar so that first semester ends at before Christmas break. The other nice consequence of this is that we’re done with school before the end of May – something I’ll appreciate much more in May than I do in August. 🙂

We lost an English teacher, which caused all kinds of tense moments and nightmares about 45-person English classes, but were lucky enough to find the money to fill the position. I’m feeling pretty pleased about my class numbers, although I know from last year that they’re bound to fluctuate wildly in the first few weeks of school. I’ve got between 22 and 25 sophomores in each of five classes, and 32 in my creative writing class.

Fluctuation will come from last-minute registrations (I gained eight kids in one class on the first day last year) as well as from kids who just don’t show up. I guess part of the concern about starting school so early this year is that the migrant children won’t be able to come to school until we’re several weeks in (because they’ll still be working). Some people are also worried about kids skipping school to show at the state fair, which is in late August, but that’s a less complex issue than the migrant children. At least the fair-goers will show up at the beginning of the year, so we’ll know that they’re there. We may not know about half of the migrant children before they show up.

And of course, it wouldn’t be the end of the summer without disasters. I don’t even have to have stress dreams – my waking life is plenty stressful enough! To top off all of the crap that has been going down in my personal life this summer, I did something cruel and unusual to my back this week. Now, I’ve had back pain and back injuries before, but NOTHING like this. I woke up Monday with some pain in the right side of my back, but nothing that made me amend my daily activities or anything. By the end of the day Tuesday, I was walking around like an osteoporosis patient in a nursing home. Couldn’t stand up straight, walk normally, or pick up anything. Wednesday was worse, and today – well, there are signs of hope, but I’m still pretty useless. And of course, I’ve got books to sort, desks to shift (well, not anymore – thanks, Mr. Bees) posters to laminate, copies to make… gah.

Oh well. I may have to teach from a stretcher (all right – where did I read about a teacher who was so stubborn that she made the paramedics carry her in on a stretcher to finish her lesson after throwing out her back? was it real or fiction? I can’t remember) but it won’t matter if my books are in perfect order. Just as long as my copies get made…

Entry filed under: PLANNING AND DOING.

August Happiness #12 You Get What You Ask For

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




