Had Just About Enough.

August 4, 2010 at 9:42 am 3 comments

They gave the government teaching position to some coaching friend of theirs who already had a job.

It’s funny how quickly your spirit can turn. One moment, I was happily making unit plans and searching for the perfect desk calendar to map out the rest of my school year. The next moment, I was calculating whether I’d be Category I if I quit my job and took a position in a different district. There’s allegedly an English job – although I’ve never seen it posted – at the school where Mr. Bees student-taught. There’s also a language arts position at an area alternative high school, and one of the other LA teachers there was my freshman English teacher. She likes me. I bet she could get me in the door.

How easily all the fun can be taken out of a year. Now what am I supposed to do? How do I plan for the new year, get my room all fixed up, talk about all of the preparation and back-to-school stuff, knowing that every word of it is a dagger of disappointment for my husband – not to mention for myself? Moreover, do I even want to? Right this minute, I don’t even care.

My back isn’t broken – we’re going to get through this. Mr. Bees can keep working on his Masters, and we’ll get him subbing. He’s going to see if he’s qualified for the position Coach McJockstrap is vacating at a middle school. But I have to dump all of this venom somewhere so that it gets out of my heart and away from my job. It’s all going to be okay. But yesterday, and today – blech. We’re so disappointed. I can’t even put it into words. And after the other crap that has happened this summer… we needed this.

I know that we can’t take this personally – but I can’t help wishing they HAD taken it just a little bit personally for me. They had to know how much this was going to hurt.

Entry filed under: BAD DAY, JOB HUNT, MR. BEES.

August Happiness #3 August Happiness #4

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  August 4, 2010 at 10:57 am

    at the end of the day, perhaps it’s best to try and find some sense in it from looking at it from a business standpoint, so you can step away from the personal involvement of it all.

    they know Coach McJockstrap will stick around the district, cause he already has. Mr Bees? Brand new teacher, working on his masters. Remember all those studies you showed us about new teachers and burnout and whatnot? From the business POV, moving someone up was preferable from hiring a (relative) unknown.

    Just remember that it’s not a personal dig at YOU because he wasn’t given the job. Even if they knew how much this would hurt (and how could they, really, if they looked at it from a business POV?) they had to make a decision for the school. Clearly the WRONG decision, but one they felt was right for them.

    Although I clearly fault them the jerking you around part. That just sucks.

    :hugs:

    Reply
    • 2. Mrs. Bees  |  August 4, 2010 at 11:14 am

      I totally know. I’m just venting my spleen. 🙂

      Thanks for the hugs.

      Reply
  • 3. Jessica  |  August 4, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    Absolutely understand – and totally agree with it.

    Just hoping the potential “outside in” view helps you be able to live with working for the district 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




