It Begins

August 3, 2010 at 10:40 am 2 comments

Last night I officially had my first back-to-school stress dream of the  summer. I had a real doozy at the end of winter break last year, and this one’s pretty tame in comparison, but still. Fuuuun.

I dreamed that it was the first day of school, and I couldn’t get the students to stop climbing on top of my brand new black pickup. (I don’t own a black pickup.) Apparently the first day of school was also the first day of teachers-in-school, and they’d planned an hour of teacher orientation while the students apparently roamed wild. Except that I didn’t know that, because apparently I hadn’t read any of my mail all summer or something. So while all the other teachers got their class assignments, schedules, etc., I was hanging out with some of my students in what I thought was my classroom but later turned out to be a broom closet. I suddenly realized that it was nearly eleven, and that I had no idea what class I had next – or where. Oh, and I’d forgotten to put on a bra – a surmountable problem for some, perhaps, but not for me and these ladies. While dashing across campus to try to find a course schedule or something, I ran into one of my APs from my student teaching school, who told me that I had to go get on a bus. I guess the second half of teacher orientation was at a BBQ restaurant. So I was trying to decide whether to get on the bus and eat lunch, or stay in the school with the masses of disorganized students trying to prepare for my first class of the day. Then the phone rang, sparing me the choice.

I really liked something I read on Shitty First Drafts about those pre-school dreams. My favorite part:

[C]onsidering how common these sorts of dreams are, I think they speak to pretty common fears about school and academic life:  breaking rules you didn’t even know existed, forgetting things you didn’t even know you needed to remember, losing control of your ability to meet expectations and excel.

SFD, you can get pop-psych anytime you like. Excellent insight. 🙂

I guess I need to start making myself some physical artifacts of preparedness so that my subconscious doesn’t think I’m walking in blind. Maybe my daily schedule is available by now; it wasn’t last week, but it is almost that time. I’ve got a decent notion of how I want to lay out the school year, but actually writing it down on a calendar might be a good idea! 🙂

What kind of stress dreams do you have this time of year?

Entry filed under: BRAINCLOUDS, PLANNING AND DOING.

August Happiness Challenge #2 August Happiness #3

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. OKP  |  August 3, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    Classes out of control. Escalating yelling. Yeah, mostly control issues.

    Good luck with your first days. I still have almost a whole month (which is nice, ’cause we didn’t get out until then end of June). Reading the blogs of people who have started will get me excited for September!

    Reply
  • 2. Rachel  |  August 3, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    Wow that covered just about everything possible that could go wrong! Personal, management, administrative…lol Wow! (I hear ya on the bra thing…would be an embarrassingly obvious difference).

    I usually have control-issue dreams, or that I have former hooligan students returning to the classroom. My favorite is the dream a friend had: the students were wrapping each other in Saran Wrap and she couldn’t get them to stop!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




