Happy Bardday

April 23, 2010 at 11:06 am 3 comments

Although no one knows for certain, April 23 is usually thought to be Shakespeare’s birthday. I woke up wishing I had a Shakespeare t-shirt to wear – we’re reading A Midsummer Night’s Dream, so they’d actually get the reference for once – and, although it’s far too late, spent part of my prep today looking to see what was out there.

Shakespeare’s Den has one of my favorites, an homage to Hamlet in pictogram.

ThinkGeek tackled the same line, and may have won:

I’m loving the cariactures of Shakespearean characters at Hotspur Ink and the tongue-in-cheek cartoons at conceptTshirts.

As an English teacher, I wouldn’t ever wear this shirt from Threadless – but it cracks me up anyway. 🙂

I can’t decide if this shirt by ASBOnation is dumb or awesome:

This one, however, is unequivocably terrific:

Lots of great options at The Shakespeare Shoppe

I’m often leery of CafePress artists, but there are actually quite a few terrific things related to Shakespeare there.

Entry filed under: CLIPPINGS, FUN STUFF.

In Which My Head Explodes Holy Biscuits – It’s August?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  April 23, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    ….I may have to change my forum tag line to “though she is but little, she is fierce”. Totally missed that one in MND

    :ponders:

    Reply
    • 2. Mrs. Bees  |  April 23, 2010 at 12:34 pm

      One of the great lines in the play. Of course, Hermia takes offense – leading to a Shakespearean catfight – but hey, why not? 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. teachin'  |  April 23, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    I heart the Threadless shirts – I have Nothing Rhymes with Orange, which my kids always love, and Haikus are Easy, which some of them disagree with personally. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




