In Which My Head Explodes

April 9, 2010 at 3:13 pm 2 comments

my head exploding

Before school on Tuesday, I was told that my sophomores and juniors would be pulled out of English class on Thursday and Friday of this week, in order to register for their 2010-11 classes. I stressed about losing one day of our increasingly-precious time for the Shakespeare unit, and thought it was kind of lousy to have given us only two days notice, but rolled with it.

Knowing that I now wouldn’t be starting an activity until Monday, I back-burnered the handouts and whatnot for that activity to work on other things.

All day Wednesday I emailed various people, trying to find out exactly how long registration would take – would they be in there the entire period, or did I need to plan a short mini-activity? The response I received was that my students would probably be in registration for almost the entire period.

After school on Wednesday, I got another email. This one told me that on Thursday and Friday, sophomores would be pulled out of history class to vote for ASB officers, and juniors would be pulled out of their English class to do the same. Additionally, sophomores would be pulled out of their speech classes on Thursday/Friday to register.

That cartoonish sound you heard was me screeching to a halt and doing the world’s biggest doubletake.

Keep in mind that it is after school on Wednesday. After being told for two days that I would NOT have any students on Thursday and Friday, I’m now being told that I will have most of them after all.

I emailed immediately, asking if there was some mistake – and if not, what was going on? I won’t receive my absolutely-necessary photocopies from the print center until Monday; without them, I can’t just move forward with my original schedule. Not only that, but I’d spent the past two days stressing out and completely rearranging my unit calendar to make up for the loss of the day. (We’re on block, so one day is two days of instruction.)

This is the response I received – word for word, nothing left out:

It was changed late yesterday.
Sorry for the inconvenience.

I’m SORRY?!?!? It was changed YESTERDAY? Then why in God’s name didn’t the sophomore English teachers know yesterday? You’re sorry for the INCONVENIENCE? This isn’t inconvenient – this is unexcusable and unprofessional.

It’s 3 PM the day before. I can’t do the lesson I would have done, so I have to start completely from scratch with a new lesson that will fit in with what we’re doing. Did I mention that we’re under accreditation review, so I have to have a really awesome lesson that 100% meets the curriculum standards, along with a printed lesson plan and justification ready to go? Without belabouring the point, let’s just say that I didn’t leave work until 7 PM that day – and I probably shouldn’t have left then.

Then, yesterday, I get the other email. You know, the one saying that my juniors will be pulled out of their English class on Monday for their registration. Because it makes so much sense for the juniors to be pulled out of 174 minutes of instruction in the same class, back-to-back. And because two days notice is OBVIOUSLY enough for a teacher, since, y’know, we’re not professionals or anything. Certainly we haven’t been fighting tooth and nail for a computer lab period that day, that our juniors desperately need, and that will now be totally wasted BECAUSE THEY WON’T EVEN BE THERE.

If you noticed a mushroom cloud in the northwestern sky in the past 48 hours, that was my head exploding. Sorry ’bout that.

Entry filed under: BAD BEHAVIOR, BAD DAY, TALES FROM SCHOOL.

This May Hurt a Little Happy Bardday

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alycia  |  April 9, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    Why do they have to be pulled out of class to do it at all? I just don’t get it. Here, it’s an activity done at home, at lunchtime, during free periods, during the 25th period (the period that doesn’t belong to any class so is sort of a time for doing such things!)

    Reply
  • 2. Alycia  |  April 9, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    Oh yeah and if it makes you feel better – I have exactly the same crap pulled on me quite regularly. Other departments (aka single teacher of single subject) (I am in a school of 90 secondary students and only 10 teachers, who share an office) fail to tell anyone of dates they’ve chosen for camps, excursions, incursions – leaving me to rock up to class with 2 students. I teach a primary (elementary) class of food one day a week and every week for the last 9 weeks, I’ve genuinely had no idea what time they’ll rock up or have to leave, until the time that they rock up, or the teacher rings and asks for them back. It’s bullllllllllll crap!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




