April Fools

April 1, 2010 at 12:19 pm 4 comments

I’m pleased to be not-in-school on April Fools’ Day. Unfortunately, I can’t seem to come up with any awesome pranks that don’t involve tricking my students into attempting impossible puzzles or something, so I guess I won’t be too tricky today.

I’m remembering, though, with fondness, the epic April Fools’ Day joke I pulled two years ago.

To sum it up, I wrote an email to my fellow student teachers, my mentor teacher, and my friends and family. I told them that both my husband and I had been offered an amazing job teaching in a charter school in Alaska. It was chock full of ridiculous details, not the least of which was that the school was allegedly located in Cicely, AK. I figured I’d get a few people for a few minutes, but that they’d quickly check the date stamp and realize they’d been had.

Well, I was partially right.

My family, knowing all-to-well how expert I am in the fine art of bullshitting, were fooled only momentarily. I mean, it couldn’t have been much of a prank for our moms, both of whom would have received a phone call rather than a mass email. I know that Mr. Bees’s dad fell for it for a few minutes. My good friend in California fell hard until she looked up the town and realized she’d been had.

But my fellow student teachers? Oh, they believed me. And they didn’t so much as say a word about it. No congratulations, no questions, no nothing. As it turns out, they were wicked jealous. One of them in particular – ahhh, Juanita – was apparently so jealous that she began going around grousing about me to other teachers. When I found out, I about died laughing.

Today, I can’t honestly remember how or if Juanita ever found out that she’d fallen victim to an over-the-top April Fools’ joke. I mean, she had to have figured out that I wasn’t actually moving to Alaska, right? Since, y’know, we now teach together in not-Alaska?

You can’t top a joke like that, I think. It’s a good prank indeed that really reveals the prankees’ true personalities.

Entry filed under: FUN STUFF.

Second Drafts are Important! This May Hurt a Little

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stixen  |  April 5, 2010 at 11:03 am

    “My good friend in California fell hard until she looked up the town and realized she’d been had. ”

    :sigh:

    That’s what I get for being supportive before I look into the specifics, huh? Kinda like what I get for responding to one email from a certain friend before reading the next 6? ;p

    Reply
    • 2. Mrs. Bees  |  April 5, 2010 at 11:17 am

      Ha ha ha. Hey, what’s AFD for, if not to prey upon our friends’ trusting natures and good hearts? 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Stixen  |  April 8, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    Someday, smug miss, I will remind you of the year long AFD joke that the entire fraternity bought. (No, I had no part in it)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




