Freshening Up for Spring

March 29, 2010 at 2:25 pm 5 comments

I’m tired of looking at my existing Full of Bees header, so I’ve decided to make a new one. For those of you who read this blog through an RSS reader, here’s my current banner:

FoB - Current Header

I’m still pretty fond of my style template, so I’m still working within the same color scheme. Here are some of the possibilities I’ve been playing with (click to enlarge):

Daisies with Cute Font:

FoB w/Daisies

Curly and Boxy Fonts:

FoB - Boxy

Spartan Textgraphic:

FoB - Spartan

Big Yellow:

FoB - Big Sketchy

Chalkboard:

FoB - Chalkboard

Big Blue:

FoB - Chalkboard

I like the Daisies banner because it’s a “complete” look, but am not sure it’s really what I want. The Curly/Boxy one is cute, and I like it, but it doesn’t feel quite… right. The Spartan banner is cool, but again, not sure that it’s right for this particular blog. I like the idea of having a white banner, like Big Yellow or Big Blue, on the white website. Big Blue, in particular, is nice and simple. The Chalkboard one is fun, although pretty much an anachronism at this point!

Do y’all like any of these? Any ideas for improvement? Any new and fantastic ideas? Obviously, I’m inspired by text and typefaces (not the least because I can’t create graphic art, but fonts are my friend!).

Entry filed under: FUN STUFF.

Reality Check Second Drafts are Important!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rachel  |  March 29, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    I personally like Curly/Boxy & Big Yellow! They’re all pretty cute, though! How do you make them?

    Reply
  • 2. Alycia  |  March 30, 2010 at 7:10 am

    I’m liking Big Yellow.

    I like Daisy but I don’t think it fits because it has no bees in it?!!!!!

    Reply
  • 3. OKP  |  March 30, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    I like Daisy — bees are simply implied.

    I also like chalk. I like near-obsolescence. I am near-obsolete myself!

    Reply
  • 4. Clix  |  April 1, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    I’m with OKP on Daisy. You have to imagine the bees, but you know they’re there! Big Yellow is my next pick. Sleek and effective, though I would make both of the bees teal; it pops more on the white background for that one.

    Reply
  • 5. Kit  |  April 3, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    Negative Nelly, here. I like your current banner better than any of these. I know the bees are implied, but they are such cute little guys that you need to puff paint a few somewhere.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




