Lacking Community

March 8, 2010 at 1:31 pm 3 comments

My interview for the National Writing Project was this past Saturday.

They brought about eight of us into a conference room, with another half dozen or so alums of the project, and broke us into small groups for “conversations.” They were careful to say that they were not judging us as good or bad teachers, or good or bad writers. They’re trying to create a group with a particular distribution of elements: different teaching assignments, different subject expertise, different amounts of experience, different parts of the state. As a second-year high school English teacher in the capital city, I’ve got four strikes against me. Then again, they’re taking 1/3 of the applicants, and I tend to be a good interview, so here’s hoping.

Before they interviewed us, though, they explained what the NWP was. I knew that it was a summer institute, that it included aspects of a writing workshop – things like that. I didn’t know that it was a bigger thing than that. I didn’t know that it was a community of teachers, of writers.

Basically, they’re looking for teachers who will help perpetuate a cycle of teachers-teaching-teachers. They want teachers who are passionate about certain elements of their craft, who will share that passion with others. And they’re looking to provide said teachers with community.

“Being a part of networks is a key factor,” the local director told us,  “into whether a teacher leaves the profession within the first few years.”

When he said that, several things happened. The first was that a lightbulb went off over my head. Oh, I said. So that’s why I’m unhappy.

Then a surge of yearning went through me as I realized how much I wanted to be a part of this program.

And then, like a kick to the gut, I realized that I very well might not get in this year. That’s when I really understood how much I wanted to be picked.

They say that many people apply for 2-4 years before getting in. I feel good about my chances, but in the end, I can’t control what they’re looking for or whether or not they liked what I had to offer. However it goes, I should know within a few weeks…

Entry filed under: BEING A STUDENT, MISCELLANEOUS.

This is not always fun. Rage and Redemption

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. OKP  |  March 8, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    I’m crossing my fingers for you!

    Reply
  • 2. Kit  |  March 20, 2010 at 9:00 am

    Me too!

    Reply
  • 3. Flat « Full of Bees!  |  March 24, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    […] March 24, 2010 Well, I didn’t get in. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




