Had to Happen Sooner or Later

March 4, 2010 at 3:12 pm 4 comments

Student #1: [Can’t find word in the dictionary, needs help.] Hey, Mom?

Mrs. Bees: Oh, sweetie, I am WAY too young to be your mom.

Student #1: [Dies of embarrassment.]

Student #2: I bet you’re older than my mom.

Student #3: [To student #2.] Dude, you’re seriously going to fail English now.

Student #1: How old are you, Mrs. Bees?

Mrs. Bees: Twenty-nine.

Student #1: That’s not too young to be a mom.

Mrs. Bees: Of a sophomore?

Student #1: Ohhhhhh.

Entry filed under: TALES FROM SCHOOL.

Civics Fail Curses! Foiled again!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stixen  |  March 5, 2010 at 10:18 am

    /dies laughing

    I’m fairly certain the oldest I called a teacher “mom” was middle school. And she blessedly just quirked an eyebrow and let it slide, so that I didn’t need to die of embarassment.

    probably helped that I realized what I did and corrected myself pretty quick

    Reply
  • 2. Kit  |  March 5, 2010 at 10:20 am

    My sister once asked my mother if she voted for Lincoln. My mom didn’t think that was a bit funny. Kids have not concept. Yours is a cute story.

    Reply
  • 3. Lisa  |  March 5, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    I get called “mom” about once a week. I teach 7th grade (and am also 29, by the way.)

    Reply
  • 4. Sarah  |  March 7, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    I can’t believe students still say that at that age! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




