Sick

February 14, 2010 at 3:16 pm 1 comment

After coughing and wheezing for over a month, and after Mr. Bees finally got tired of telling me to see a doctor and just started giving me a long-suffering look every time I doubled over with coughs, and after my stomach muscles got torn up badly enough that – well, let’s just say I was carefully monitoring my fluid intake and bathroom breaks… after all this, I finally took a sick day and went to see a doctor.

(For what it’s worth, I didn’t resist out of sheer stubbornness. I just figured that it was another persistent cold virus, and that all a doctor would do would be to say, “rest and drink OJ, that’ll be $60.” Figured I could save myself the trouble and the $60.)

Well, the doctor had a different idea. After talking about it for a while, and about other things bouncing around in my medical history, he came up with two possible prognoses.

The first – and most likely – is that I have inflamed lungs, post-cold virus, and related to a long-undiagnosed case of The Asthma. I have always suspected that I had a minor case of The Asthma, so this diagnosis made a lot of sense to me.

The second is that I work with poor, often under-immunized teenagers, and that one of the darling dears may have given me PERTUSSIS.

Let’s be clear: if my kids gave me whooping cough, so help me I will fail every last one of them.

Anyway, the doctor gave me some beautiful little yellow capsules called benzonatate that reduce the reflex to cough, and a ventolin inhaler, which is a bronchodilator. If they make a big difference by the end of Sunday, he told me, it’s probably The Asthma, and I should get a pulmonary exam. He also gave me a prescription for some antibiotics in case I was still sick by Monday; they’re to treat potential pertussis.

Fortunately for my kiddos, the inhaler and yellow pills have made a world of difference. I still have a cough, but it’s a controllable, infrequent cough that doesn’t hurt, break me in half, make me wet myself, or disrupt conversations within a thirty-foot radius.

So I guess I’ll be back at school on Tuesday (hooray, holidays!) and may even be able to talk. That’ll be a novel experience for my classes; I don’t think they’ve heard my normal voice since they came back from Christmas break.

Entry filed under: MISCELLANEOUS, MR. BEES.

Two Fun-on-Friday Articles Still Here…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mrs. Chili  |  February 14, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    “Let’s be clear: if my kids gave me whooping cough, so help me I will fail every last one of them.”

    I know it’s not funny, but this is funny…

    I’m glad you’re starting to feel better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




