What’s Next?

December 29, 2009 at 6:22 pm 1 comment

Due to the bizarre calculus of financial aid and whatnot, and also because I’ve been itching to return to school, it looks like next semester I “need” to start taking graduate classes again. This has been a little more difficult for me to figure out than anticipated, because I can’t quite figure out what I want to take.

I was in a MA program for Curriculum, Instruction, and Foundational Studies. It’s basically the generic Masters in Education program at my university – teachers take it because they want the increased pay that comes with a MA, or because they want to understand the theory of their field, or because they’d like to eventually have a PhD in Education. I loved those classes and the professors. Unfortunately, the program changed at some point, and the classes I took that helped me get certified no longer really apply to the CIFS degree. So I’m at square one…

Mr. Bees is getting his MS in Educational Technology. I like the idea of being qualified to teach technology classes, like the publications class I wanted to teach at LMS. A part of me likes the fact that the Ed-Tech classes are online and, it seems, a little easier than the CIFS classes. Another part of me dislikes that they’re online, because I love the graduate classes – you don’t get the same thing out of a video or notes.

Then there’s a new program. It’s a MA in Teaching English. The classes sound like fun. I have at least six credits that will transfer into it – maybe 15.

The thing is trying to figure out what I want my future to look like. Because right now, I’m not at all sure that my future includes being a high school English teacher – at least, not at CHS. This isn’t working.

So what will work? I think I’d like to go back to a middle school. I’m not sure. There were definite downsides to that, downsides that really bothered me while I was there but that seem so minor now that I miss it. I do know that if I go to a middle school – and probably if I stay at a high school – that I’d like to be able to pick up a few classes at the college level at some point. I thought once, and am beginning to think again, that I might be supposed to be a college professor.

But of what? English, or education?

I would happily teach book arts, publication, composition – general or specialized (creative nonfiction, etc.). I would happily teach “how to teach English” classes. I would unhappily teach literature classes – I am not, and never will be able to be, a member of the literazi. I like “junk” too much and “great works” too little.

And I would happily teach teacher education classes…

Right now, it feels like the best solution is to enter the MA in Teaching English degree, and possibly plug in a certification in Educational Technology for my electives, which might qualify me to be a tech teacher…

Entry filed under: MISCELLANEOUS.

You’re Bluffing! Irresistible Movie Review

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. everydayjae  |  December 29, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    If I’m understanding you correctly, you are looking to start/finish an MA program? I loved my program, and would highly recommend it to anyone. Even with my frustrations during it, I look back and wish I had absorbed more, because it was quick paced, highly informative, and tailored to the cohort’s needs. While it is designed to certify you as well as grant an MA degree, I know you can get endorsements in anything the state of OR or ID offers.

    Like I said, I’m not sure if that’s exactly what you’re looking for, but it might be worth considering!

    http://www.georgefox.edu/boisecenter/index.html

    Happy learning!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




