November, Here We Come…

October 14, 2009 at 7:02 pm Leave a comment

I’ve gotten approval and a small working budget to run the NaNoWriMo Young Writers’ Program at my new school. I’m excited to see how it all turns out. I know it will be different than it was at the middle school – older teens are more cynical, more skeptical, more busy than middle school kids. I decided to try to get a headcount of interested students ahead of time, and was surprised to get numbers in excess of a hundred students…

So I’m having a signup/informative meeting next Thursday, in the choir room, because there’s no other place I can use after school this month. I’m hoping to get a good idea of numbers then. I’m going to have a kick-off party on November 2 (yes, a little late, but I can’t do it on the weekend) and would like to have a really nice, dress-up, parents-invited TGIO party early in December. Part of that will depend on how many students actually take part. A really nice graduation-type party seems kind of silly with only a half dozen kids.

I’m going to do once-weekly write-ins, if I can get computer lab access after school.

This year, I’m not going to promise POD published novels. They were just too much work. CreateSpace is apparently offering to do a free copy for all NaNo winners; I’ll tell the kids about that. If I have a manageable number of winners, I might do a raffle or something for publication.

I’m also not going to put their names on the chart until they’ve recorded at least 10% of their goal. I only have three charts – enough for 105 students – and I don’t want to waste any of them like I did last year.

I’m trying to recruit teachers to participate, too. So far, one has bitten…

I’m putting up posters tomorrow and Friday – three plain, B&W-on-colored-paper ones, and three FTW awesome ones:

Twilight

Harry Potter Jurassic Park 

Hopefully that will recruit some more people!

Entry filed under: FUN STUFF.

Epic Fail Last Dance at Homecoming

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




