SRSLY OMG

September 2, 2009 at 8:53 am 3 comments

There’s a big push in the school to work toward creating this community of teachers who clearly care about the kids and – accordingly – are happy to make dorks of themselves in public, if it helps build that community. It’s pretty awesome. Very much my sort of environment.

(This brings me to a whole different subject, which would be that I am a failure at this whole BEING AN INTROVERT thing, but that’s probably a post for another time.)
 
Somehow or the other, I’ve managed to get myself roped into two rather unnerving events this month. Wondering if I’m really quite as brave as I thought when I agreed to it!
 
Friday there’s going to be a pep assembly, and I got asked to round out the female talent for a game of The Singing Bee. Apparently I’ll be standing up in front of the school, and they’ll play part of a familiar song, and then stop the music, and I have to keep singing and hopefully get the lyrics right. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

(For those of you new to the show, I’m not a singer. Really.)
 
Then, later this month, they’re having the First Annual Teacher Talent Show. And – again, mysteriously – I appear to be on the list as a piano soloist. SERIOUSLY, ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME?

:Shrug: If I can dress up like a superhero and disco in front of 700 middle schoolers, I can stand in front of 1,500 high schoolers and forget the lyrics to Michael Jackson songs.

Entry filed under: FUN STUFF, MISCELLANEOUS.

"This sucks. Why do we have to learn about history in English class?" Being Missed

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




