Back to School

August 25, 2009 at 9:09 am Leave a comment

I’m sitting here in my perfectly turned-out classroom with about twenty minutes left in my ludicrously long and luxurious prep period. (A girl can get a lot done in ninety minutes!)

The advantage to having first period prep on the first day of school is that I’m not the first person anyone sees, and I get a chance to eavesdrop on other people to see what they’re doing to kick things off. Just hearing other people talking to their classes without self-destructing makes me breathe a little easier.

I say that, but it’s kind of silly, because I’m not scared. I thought I would be nervous about starting the school year, but I feel pretty dang confident about it all. I’m looking forward to working with sophomores again. I’m looking forward to teaching again. The only thing that really gives me pause is the block scheduling, and I think I’ve got a grip on it now.

A few notes:

  • There were flowers and earrings – golden CHS mascots – on my desk when I got here, and I’m still not sure how Mr. Bees did it. Going to have to tickle it out of him, I think.
  • Instead of a ear-shattering buzzer, the morning bell – and the warning bells leading up to it – is Westminster Chimes.
  • A girl came in during my prep to ask if she could be my TA, somehow not realizing that it was my prep despite the emptiness of the room (they don’t TA during your prep).
  • High school students are considerably taller than middle school students. I’d forgotten that.
  • A girl looked into my classroom from the hall and saw my Australia poster. She said to her friend, “Australia! I love that movie! Except that there was this one part that was pretty inappropriate.” Her friend replied that she had a book she’d like, but that it had an inappropriate part. The girl said, “That’s okay, I’ll skip over that part.” When she said that part of the movie was pretty inappropriate, it sounded just like my sister at that age.

It’s my first day of school all over again. Wish me luck, and best of luck to all of you out there for whom it is also your first day! Happy teaching!

Entry filed under: MR. BEES, NEW SCHOOL.

Egads! Note to Self:

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




