Classroom?

July 28, 2009 at 11:17 am 2 comments

I signed my contract with the district yesterday. After a brief moment of panic when my car wouldn’t start and I thought I’d be spending my day in the district’s parking lot, I drove past my new place of employment to see if anyone was home. I managed to drive up at the exact moment that the CEO arrived, and  he let me in. He isn’t in charge of room assignments, but he was able to make an educated guess and show me the room that he thought I’d have. (The school is new enough that the rooms are pretty uniform, so it gave me a good idea of what I’m working with even if it isn’t my actual room.)

It’s huge. When I’d walked down the hall and peeked in windows, they hadn’t seen so large. But it’s easily twice the size of my last classroom, made psychologically larger by the addition of three tall windows overlooking the front courtyard.

It’s on the second floor. That’s tough for moving in, but I prefer it. For one thing, I like getting the exercise of regular stair climbing, and I miss it since living in a one-story house for the past decade. I love the feeling of elevation.

There are 33 desks in there, and there’s plenty of room for more. It doesn’t feel cramped in the slightest. Then there’s a teacher’s desk, plus a computer half-desk. At the front of the room is a little podium cabinet, like you’d see in a college lecture hall.

A-n-d there’s a ceiling-mounted LCD projector!

There’s a sterile feel to the room, but then again, it’s a basically-empty classroom. I’m imagining my bookcases, and need to really get to work on making some new posters.

This morning I got a phone call from the CEO’s assistant. She said I could come in Thursday morning, find out what my exact room assignment is, and go over a few things. She won’t be able to give me keys yet, but she’ll be able to let me in whenever I call.

It’s good to feel excited. The inactivity of waiting breeds moments of terror, where I wonder whether I’ve made the right choice, whether I’ll be able to keep up with the older kids. I know that I’ve made the right choice, and that I’ll do fine with high school, but that doesn’t stop the occasional flashes of horrified doubt. 🙂 Having concrete details in place shoos away the crazy.

Entry filed under: FUN STUFF, NEW SCHOOL.

Religious Symbols in the Classroom Classroom!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. everydayjae  |  July 28, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    Hey! The new set up sounds exciting! I wish I could say that my classroom is hug, but alas, one of the social studies teachers took the room I would have been in, and I got stuck with the smallest one in the building. I do have a whole wall of windows though, so it kind of makes up for it! 🙂

    Did you get my email about districts?

    Good luck this year! You’ll rock!

    Reply
  • 2. madhousewife  |  July 30, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    I’m excited vicariously! Empty rooms are always very exciting to me. Plus, ceiling-mounted LCD projector? Pure awesome.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




