Gee, Thanks

February 17, 2009 at 2:00 pm 1 comment

We have a new nurse at our school – not new to nursing, but new to our building. I really hit it off with the last gal, but this one… well, we just haven’t really clicked. Most of this is due to the fact that she keeps very much to herself (no fun health updates, etc.) and I haven’t spent much time in the nurse’s office.

My only real complaint with Nurse is that she doesn’t send sick kids home. Probably there’s some reason behind that, but all I know is that before, a puking kid didn’t get returned to my classroom.

A case in point:

Today, one of my kids – and granted, a chronic sicky – went to the restroom and vomited. “Ralph” returned, looking visibly ill; I sent him to the nurse. Fifteen minutes he returned to get his things. From “visibly ill” he’d progressed to “actually green” punctuated with loud groans of pain. I asked him if his parents were coming to get him.

“No,” Ralph said. “She says I have to at least get through fifth period, and then if the medicine isn’t helping she’ll let me call home.”

Well, great. I’m sure Ralph’s fifth period teacher wants him in there breathing puke-germs all over her and her other students. It’s not bad enough that he leaned all over my desk and breathed on me, but now we want to take out as many teachers as possible?

Some of these kids – Ralph included – are fledgling hypochondriacs, no doubt. But he was not faking this discomfort, and I doubt very much he was faking the puke. And I’m sorry, but the last thing in the world I want is anyone throwing up in my classroom. That’s bad enough on its own, but when you’re in a room full of kids – all of whom are potentially sympathetic vomiters – you’re just asking for Awful.

Send ’em home, Nurse!

Entry filed under: BAD BEHAVIOR, TALES FROM SCHOOL.

Three Ghosts? Five Styles of Parenting

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kit  |  July 16, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    I totally agree!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




