Unpleasantly Small World

October 27, 2008 at 9:30 pm Leave a comment

A second school campus in Arkansas – this time, the University of Central Arkansas – was shot up last night. Two young men were killed, and another was shot in the leg.

One of Mr. Bee’s students recently moved to our area from Arkansas. (Not to be too specific, but Mr. Bee’s school is approximately 1,700 miles from the University of Central Arkansas campus.) Last night, the student – we’ll call him Art, Art from Arkansas – decided to call up one of his buddies back home. He was on the phone with his friend at the moment when he was shot in the leg.

From what I hear, Art heard a loud noise and then the phone hit the ground. A moment or two later, someone else picked up the phone and shouted, “He’ll call you back later,” before hanging up. Apparently, the friend had immediately blacked out from the pain. Meanwhile, Art had no idea what was going on. He learned later that there had been a shooting, but it wasn’t until he was in the school library this morning that he heard his friend’s name on the news. Fortunately, he was able to get hold of his friend’s parents and find out that he was going to be okay.

Entry filed under: BAD DAY, MR. BEES.

Novel Concept Cafeteria Full of Words

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




