Where Else to Prop my Halo?

October 21, 2008 at 10:28 pm 1 comment

I shouldn’t be, but I’m reading a book. It’s amazing. And, in little ways characteristic of many amazing books, surreptitiously melancholy. It’s about a teacher, so I’m debating whether to review it here or on my bookerly blog. Leaning toward the other since I neglect it dreadfully.

The runners-up in the Student Council election took it like troopers, and they were all great sports. I don’t know if I did an unusually good job at something (which is what people keep telling me, but I don’t see what they could mean) or if I just lucked out with a great group of kids, but they were awesome. A few tears, all of which were quite restrained. My favorite was the sixth grade boy who shrugged on his way out of the library and told me, “It’s like my dad said: if I win, he’s gonna take me out for a milkshake. If I lose, he’s gonna take me out for a big milkshake.”

Thursday I’m supposed to go to a “new teacher institute” to learn how to talk to parents at the Big Scary Parent-Teacher Conference Night. *eyeroll* Oh dear, there’s my horns showing again – but seriously. Of the many things that give me doubt and pre-eruptive ulcers, parent conferences are not one of them. After CHS, I can’t imagine the parent that could faze me. (Hey, Cosmos! You hear that? Did that sound suspiciously like an ill-advised challenge?)

Speaking of horns showing! I went to the local corn maize (oh yes, the area punsters went there) last Saturday night. Enjoying the feeling of a night off without responsibility or need for maturity, I clipped in a pair of barrettes that – at certain angles – bear a passing resemblance to a pair of devil horns.

hairclips 
This would be them.

It was late – past kiddie bedtimes – and not the peak weekend. So of course, half the LMS seventh grade was at the Maize, chirping “Mrs. Baker! I like your horns!” across the field. I guess now they all know that I really am not nearly as nice as they might think.

Entry filed under: BRAINCLOUDS, FUN STUFF, MISCELLANEOUS.

Counseling Council If you don’t want to know…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. everydayjae  |  October 22, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    HAHA! They know you’re a real person now! Scary…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




