Keeping Myself Busy

October 18, 2008 at 9:24 pm Leave a comment

No, I haven’t been blogging. I mean, it isn’t that catastrophic that I haven’t blogged in two weeks, not in the grand scheme of time and whatnot, but when a million things happen every day it’s practically criminal not to blog daily.

That, and I had really intended this to be a diary in a way. I wanted to have a record of this first year, and I am NOT doing a good job of that. Part of it is that I can’t reveal too many details, and I think I may remedy that by using password protection on occasional posts.

The biggest thing that has compelled me to take a few minutes to write, though, is that it occurs to me that the last indication anyone ever had of my life as a teacher was that I’m not having as much fun as I had hoped. That was nearly a month ago, and times change. Not dramatically or anything, but I’m not still stuck on September 29.

I’ve been figuring things out. I knew that the educating part of being a seventh grade teacher wasn’t going to stimulate me intellectually. Classroom management, definitely. I don’t think I can ever learn enough about managing my classroom. But teaching? We’re talking about children who don’t understand metaphor even when you spell it out to them. There is so much I’d love to share about these books and words and whatnot, and they are just simply not in a position to care.

If I was in a bad place last month, it was because I was bored. I was busy, no doubt – the number of work hours a teacher doesn’t get paid for – but not engaged. I was loving my school, loving my kids, but not loving what I was doing. I felt like I was teaching four classes of spelling and two classes of story time – cute and easy, but not really what I’d had in mind when I went into teaching.

Then I figured out a few things that turned the spelling class into something more like a real writing class, and story time got a little more interesting, and things outside of the curriculum ramped up. A lot. More about that in tomorrow’s post.

Entry filed under: BRAINCLOUDS.

Not Funny Counseling Council

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




