Why Seventh Graders Can’t Vote

September 5, 2008 at 5:48 pm 2 comments

“Uhm, so, can I ask a question?” Jessi says.

I am doing okay on time, so I say yes and lower the spelling list. I’ve just given them the word “democratic” to spell.

Jessi shuffles her feet under her desk. “So, this Barack guy. Like, is he – I mean, I know he’s running for President…”

“Yes, he is,” I respond.

“But before he decided to run for President, wasn’t he a professional wrestler?”

Yes, Jessi, I can smell (or spell) what Barack is cooking. 🙂

Entry filed under: FUN STUFF, STUDENTS, TALES FROM SCHOOL. Tags: , .

One Week Down I’ll Get You, My Pretty

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clix  |  September 5, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    I don’t think I’ve laughed so hard in days. That was so wrong… and yet… so perfect!

    Reply
  • 2. East Coast Teacher  |  September 6, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    These little gems are why I love teaching so much!

    Hope you’re enjoying it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




