A Quick Note…

August 16, 2008 at 12:27 pm Leave a comment

First, a HUGE thank you to everyone who has been so happy about my job! I will talk to you individually soon.

I have much to blog about, but I just can’t allow myself to take the time right now. I am doing an awful lot of eleventh-hour room setup and class planning, and I just have to get some of that done before I can sit down and talk about it. 🙂

I did find out what my “mystery class” is going to be. Ready for this? It’s… PE. Ha ha ha. No, not really. I now have four writing classes and two literature classes, instead of just one. Well, I have four writing classes, 1.5 literature classes, and .5 keyboarding classes, if you think of it in terms of the entire year.

(Keyboarding should be amusing if I ever have to demonstrate anything. I don’t type exactly “correctly” – my pointer fingers cross over into the other hand’s turf frequently, and I never use my pinky fingers except for the shift key – but I type in excess of 110 wpm.)

Right now, this is kind of what my room looks like (click to enlarge):

Panorama That Makes Room Look Huge and Weird

It’s a stitched-together panorama photograph, so the shape of the room is all strange and distended. I measured it with a slightly warped meter stick (all I could find was a pile of meter sticks in a science classroom, go figure) and came up with about 7 meters by 9.5 meters. I have three white boards and two doors, one of which opens up into another classroom. I’m in the sixth grade hall, which tickles me for some odd reason. There are no corkboards/bulletin boards, but all of the walls are what I call “stapleboard.” All of the stuff in there belongs the room’s former inhabitant, and I’ve been working around it for now, but I may begin shoving some of it around this weekend since I’m running low on time. I haven’t actually done anything in there except plan, but today I’m kind of planning to start setting up bookcases and whatnot. My desks will come in on Monday, and then I can really turn it into my room!

I have got to stop typing and go start doing! I’ll try to get back with a more substantive update later this weekend. ❤

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Guess what? I are an English teacher! One Week Down

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




