More About Eva

June 12, 2008 at 4:08 pm Leave a comment

I got Eva’s IEP today. Without going into much detail, hers are basically emotional issues rather than learning disabilities. My accommodations are simple enough: keep her in smaller groups (ha) and keep her on task.

The summer school AP came in today and told me that he had met with Eva’s mom. Apparently she told him that I had already given her and Eva more help than they had ever received from an English teacher. I was flabbergasted. I mean, I’m sure there’s more than one side to THAT story, but seriously… I did so little. All I did was ask for the IEP and send a couple of quickly dashed-off emails! Could it really be true that no one has even ever done that much? It’s no wonder if Eva has a bad attitude about school!

Anyway, the AP asked if he could sit in my class for a few minutes (to observe Eva, not me). When he came in, we were sitting at the six-person conference table reading “The Most Dangerous Game” aloud. I read for a bit, pausing here and there to ask pointed questions or add information, and then passed it to Eva. She reads well.

Later, the AP returned to tell me that he was pleased with what he had seen. He admitted to getting drawn into the story, and really liked the way I was guiding their reading. He liked the little arrangement of desks and said that I was doing the right thing, to keep on doing what I was doing. He also said that he would be happy to put in a good word for me if I had any future interviews, which was really nice to hear. It’s good to have people who are supportive of you, no?

 

I feel like I’m blogging a lot about how great everything is, how great I am. I think it is just because I am so relieved to find that I am not completely screwing up now that I am in solo charge of my own class. Getting positive feedback is enormously helpful, particularly if you consider the things I haven’t really blogged about – my fumbles, snafus, mistakes. Don’t ever let anyone tell you that teaching isn’t hard! I’m nursing a sore throat, not from a germ or allergy but from talking. I haven’t had time to eat breakfast or lunch all week because I’m too busy running around trying to clean up after myself and the things I’ve forgotten. I’m having to completely rewrite my agenda on a daily basis because I haven’t yet gotten the hang of the summer school class period or the pace of the class. (It’s tough because my quiet little PM class moves almost twice as fast as my talkative, larger AM class.)

Ultimately I am writing this blog for myself more than for an outside audience at this point. Every day goes by so quickly, and they blur together. It seems like I am switching between two settings: my classroom, and my bed. And I guess I am inadvertently focusing on the good things more than on the bad. Most of the things I’ve done badly haven’t been what you’d call notable, or even learning experiences; if I get something worth a blog post I’m not ashamed to expound on it. 🙂

Entry filed under: BRAINCLOUDS, JOB HUNT. Tags: , .

Eva’s Mom Finally!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




