yIEPs!

June 11, 2008 at 6:29 pm Leave a comment

Last night, looking over the “getting to know me” sheets, I discovered that one of the female students in the afternoon class has an IEP. She didn’t specify what for. I went to the office this morning, and they don’t have it on file – she’s from a different district.

(An IEP, if you’re not in education, is an Individualized Education Plan/Program. It basically indicates that a student has special needs, explains them, and lists accommodations/adaptations that educators are required to make in order to help the student succeed. This is done through Special Education. Ignorance of an IEP is not really an excuse – if a student has an IEP, I need it in my hands so that I can do what I need to do to help her.)

Anyway, the office said they’d look for it, but they didn’t find it by the time class started. I asked Eva (obviously not her real name) about it, and she said she had a copy and would get it to me tomorrow.

It’s a relief to know that there is an IEP. I had already noticed that there was something significantly wrong here, but had read it as Eva just blowing me – and the class – off. She just stops halfway into a task, puts down her pen, and hides behind a mop of hair. She can do it, I think, but will not. She doesn’t speak up and doesn’t want to share with the class. She seems happy enough but then abruptly “shuts down.”

In other news…

My morning class is fantastic.

My afternoon class is… maybe… improving.

I re-rearranged the classroom to create a second “conference table” – this one with only six seats. It seemed to help a bit to solidify us into a smaller area, where no one could hide or be off to the side. I got a little bit of eye contact if still no answers or opinions. Maybe tomorrow…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

First Day of Teaching Interview Recap

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




