Interview Recap

June 11, 2008 at 6:30 pm Leave a comment

The interview seemed to go really well. I immediately took a liking to the principal and to the school, and quite liked the AP and the head of English as well. We sat at a conference table and they told me a bit about the school and the position, then went around the table and asked me some of the most difficult interview questions I’d ever had. (May have seemed harder given how tired I am; coming straight off of 8 hours of teaching to an interview is tough.)

The position is one of two ninth grade English teachers for the school, with three regular classes, one honors, and one modified (a small class with students who need extra help – English language learners who are fluent enough to leave the ELL class but not enough to be in regular, special education students who can be integrated but can’t make it in a regular class, etc.).

I fear I may have come across a bit unfocused or rambly; I caught myself a few times repeating myself. They were especially interested in modified/differentiated instruction. They also asked questions about my classroom arrangement, classroom management, etc.. I got asked how I would deal with a fight in the hallway, what my one classroom rule would be if I had to choose, and where I would like to be in five years.

The rapport felt good; there was a lot of smiling and laughing, and I asked some good questions that they seemed to appreciate. I don’t necessarily feel that this was my best interview I’ve ever given, but it was still strong. Ultimately, I am who I am, and I can bring what I can bring. I can’t change the fact that I have no actual experience. And if they are looking for a particular thing, I can’t control that.

I am trying pretty hard not to get excited. I have a bad tendency to prematurely enumerate barn fowl, so I have to keep reminding myself that this is only my first interview and that whatever happens it was a good experience. The school is a REALLY good school, though. It is in a great community, is a newer building with nice amenities, has high test scores and a very positive culture. I love the programs they’ve brought in, too.

The last thing the interviewers told me was that they planned to make their decision by the end of the week and that they will call me one way or the other, so at least I won’t be in suspense for long!

Entry filed under: JOB HUNT. Tags: .

yIEPs! Eva’s Mom

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




