Summer School Classroom

June 9, 2008 at 7:02 pm 1 comment

Today was the “in-service” day for summer school. They gave me a room and I had most of the day to get things together for tomorrow. At first I was going to leave things as they were – wasn’t sure what the etiquette would be for moving around another teacher’s furniture – but soon I realized that all of the other summer school teachers were changing their room layout to suit their subject and methods. I needed some photocopies as well, so I went and asked if they had my class numbers yet.

They did. Ten students in the morning class. Three – three – in the afternoon class.

Sooooo… I may not have an afternoon class. Tonight is late registration, and if the class doesn’t get up to five students they will probably cancel it. The three students will either be SOL or will have to join the morning class.

Anyway, I have a room that was set up for 25 students. After shoving some of the desks around for a while I realized what I wanted to do. Since I had twice as many desks as I needed, I could set up two separate class stations – one for individual work and instruction, and one for class discussion.

This is a rough approximation of what I did:

Class Arrangement

I don’t really like having a closed-off corner for the teacher area, but the main desk is far too heavy to move and the side desk is constrained by power cords. Eh – it’ll do. It’s not like I spend a lot of time behind the desk anyway. There are actually fourteen desks in the front arrangement (the second and fifth columns have three desks, not two) and there are fourteen desks in the “conference square” as well. If I end up having more than 13 students I’ll adjust this so that there is still a place for me to sit. If I end up teaching a class of three, I may make a third station with a tiny conference table setup – it just seems silly to keep to a standard classroom setup for such a small group of kids.

So class starts in 13 hours, and I still don’t know how many students – or how many classes – I’ll be teaching. I don’t know their names,  genders, grade levels, histories. It’s interesting. I’m excited.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Must Wear! Must Teach Hamlet! Interview!!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Angela  |  June 10, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Thanks!

    And I really like your idea for desk arrangement. I will have to keep that in mind for this fall!

    Good luck with summer school! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




