Thwarted Progress

May 21, 2008 at 11:38 am 4 comments

I mailed my application materials to the Suburban School District last week – a little later than I’d intended, but I was waiting on my recommendation letters to come through. Having still heard nothing about a screening interview, I decided to call today and make sure I had done everything I needed to do. En route to looking up their phone number, I discovered that three new jobs had been posted. Three English teaching jobs. AT MY DREAM SCHOOL.

(Okay, I don’t know that it is my dream school just yet, because it doesn’t exist yet. But I am SO excited about the prospect of helping to start up a brand new school…)

Anyway, so I called the district office. First she told me that I would receive an email when it was time to set up the screening interview. Then, flipping through her papers, she told me that they had no application from me. I protested, and she told me that there was a whole stack that had arrived earlier this week that she hadn’t even gotten to yet. She told me that once she got to it – assuming it was there – that it would be a week before she made a file for it, and then three weeks before I would be able to get in for a screening interview.

WTH? Seriously? Three weeks? Make that FOUR weeks?

She told me that it was very busy this time of year (really?) and of course I understand, but couldn’t they hire a temp or something to help with the filing? Cut at least one week off of the processing time? By the time they get to my application, check it, make a file for it, and find a time for me to come in and screen, the jobs at Dream School will have been long since filled. 😦

My prospects of a job are MUCH better in the Suburban School District than they are in Urban School District, so this is a disappointing development. I suppose I have no one to blame but myself; I should have leaned on my letter-writers a bit more, maybe started the whole process earlier. Oh well. It will all work out in the end, right? Right.

Entry filed under: JOB HUNT. Tags: .

Progress!! Interview Update

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. everydayjae  |  May 21, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    This makes me so sad! What attracts you to teach in this school district, besides the homogeneous population and over-inflated egos and bank accounts found there within? (Not that I’m biased or anything?)
    I subbed for Suburban and the person you’re talking to (assuming and knowing darn well that it is the same) is not very helpful. I myself am looking to teach in AreYouKiddingMe come next fall, in the next town over. That’s where the jobs are. Good luck with the search though.

    Reply
  • 2. Me!  |  May 21, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    Well, geographically speaking, Suburban District is my second choice. My first choice, Urban District, is probably not hiring – and if they are, as you know, EVERYONE wants to work there, so the chances are slim. Suburban is familiar; my sister and I both graduated from schools there. It’s certainly not the population, and there are schools in Suburban at which I would prefer not teach due to those self-same overinflated bank accounts/egos. Mostly it’s a geography thing, to be honest. And Brand New High School is really appealing to me; I’m a “program-builder” and love the idea of being one of the first people to start up a school.

    AreYouKiddingMe, huh? Jobs? If you’re talking about the school/district that I think of as being “the next town over” then I’m not seeing the same jobs you are… there’s nothing in my field being advertised in Rural District “K” or in districts “N” and “C.” Am I missing something? 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. everydayjae  |  May 22, 2008 at 11:26 am

    Maybe…there were 2 positions open in AreYouKiddingME (N) until last week. And I think that they hire a lot without posting. I don’t know how. Two uncertified students in my cohort will be teaching there this fall–as interns. They will receive provisional licenses and contracts for the 08-09 year.

    Building your own program though, with a new school and new staff, that could be appealing. I think I’m more of a “change-maker,” put me in the middle of chaos.

    Reply
  • 4. Furious. >:( « Full of Bees!  |  June 13, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    […] to me that it was the second week of June – not that extraordinary an occurrence, except that I was supposed to have heard back from Suburban School District the third week of May about my scree…. And I never […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




