From teh Intrawebz

May 8, 2008 at 10:23 am Leave a comment

I am an avid user of Google Reader. (If you read any number of websites on a halfway regular basis, and aren’t using an RSS reader, ur doin it rong.) I thought I had more or less mastered Reader until an Ed Tech professor came into my student teaching seminar class and showed us how to use the site’s “personal shared item website” feature. It isn’t as customizable as I would like (although I know one person who successfully hacked the code to customize it to his likings) but it is a pretty terrific way to share your favorite entries.

My shared items are located here. You can subscribe to that website using your own RSS reader if you would like to read what I’m reading. I go through my reader and share education-related items about every other day right now.

If you are publishing an RSS feed of your shared items, through Google Reader or otherwise, I would love to check it out! This is a fantastic way to find new blogs and online magazines to read.

The other thing I wanted to bring up was the fact that the ED 08 “edublogger of the year” award is being decided, and you should vote for your favorite website. If I may, I’d like to plug one in particular. On the Tenure Track is written by a fellow who is kind of like family to me (it’s pretty damned complicated, or rather not so much, but most people find it weird, so… whatever) and who is a gifted blogger. (He is also rather talented at knitting, but that’s another story for another time.) He posts daily about his student teaching (and now, job-hunting) experiences, and I find his blog EXTREMELY irritating – not because of its content, but because it is just about everything I had hoped this blog might be but didn’t have the time/energy to accomplish. Ben (ha ha, I used your name, Ben!) will doubtlessly be a terrific teacher, and I look forward to reading his blog as he gets hired and undergoes his first year in his own classroom.

If you would like to support my “sibling,” go here and vote for On the Tenure Track. And even if you wouldn’t like to vote, I encourage you to surf over to his site and read.

Entry filed under: CLIPPINGS, FUN STUFF. Tags: .

Adverb Problems What Purpose is Served?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




