Seeking Grammar Help

March 30, 2008 at 11:26 pm 1 comment

Speaking of fifth period… as I mentioned earlier, they did relatively poorly on their grammar test, and I’d like to re-teach some of the concepts in preparation for the impending NCLB tests.

Do you have any activities that I might try? I’d like to try something different than just worksheets, but I’m running low on good ideas that don’t take up an entire class period.

I’m specifically looking to review direct/indirect objects, pronouns, predicate nouns, and transitive/intransitive verbs.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Back to School, and Third Quarter Grades Look, a Meme!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. eyeingtenure  |  March 31, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Anything with competition.

    If they know sentence diagramming, what might work is a little competition: Hand out blank diagrams and ask them to fill theirs out as many ways as possible. The student or group with the most would get some prize.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




