Back to School, and Third Quarter Grades

March 30, 2008 at 11:24 pm Leave a comment

It is 11 PM on the last night of Spring Break. I am torn. On the one hand, this was a dismal excuse for a Spring Break. It’s bad enough not having the funds to go anywhere or do anything, but must I spend the last five days as a lonely Computer Monitor Widow? On the other hand, I don’t feel ready to go back. I’m in a bit of a funk (they might call it depression these days, but in my world we call it a “funk”) and, left to my own devices, I might not really have the energy or willpower to go back. You know the kind of funk I mean. It’s the kind where you want to hide under the bed or, lacking that, run away to join the pirates.

Patently, I AM going back. I’ll be happy once I get there. But I’m much less prepared than I’d hoped to be. I had kind of thought I might not start off the week with the film version of Midsummer Night’s Dream, but right now I’m happy for the excuse to not think for another day or two. Sigh. I needed a break. Now I really need one.

ENOUGH!

So, I’m putting the finishing touches on the third quarter grades. I’m going to submit them in a moment here (they’re due at 8 AM tomorrow) but possibly amend them when I get to school, as I need to double-check something I can’t access from home. Looking at my grades, I fear that I may be grading too easily. That, or I offered far too much extra credit. (The extra credit thing is certainly true, but I acted on professional advice, and don’t precisely regret it. This is a tough class.)

Among all of my students, regular and accelerated combined, I am reporting:

66 A’s
25 B’s
8 C’s
1 D
3 F’s

Wow. That’s kinda weird, actually. Only one D? I wonder how that happened.

Don’t get me wrong – this is FAR from a grade inflation factory over here. In fact, I keep getting grief from my “how to teach” classmates about being too hard on my kids. The thing is, they’re hard workers, and almost all of them are really “good” kids. Three of my four failing grades (because I count a D as failing, even if the school doesn’t) really do have bad attitudes, and the other seems to have a pathological aversion to turning in schoolwork despite being charming, helpful, and brilliant. Most of my C students are either working hard and pleased with their progress, or else screwed up on a major project and are struggling to get back to the good grades they prefer to earn.

My class averages are high as well (obviously). Second period has a 92% average, and third (my worst-behaved class) has a 90.2%. Fourth period (almost all girls, and my best-behaved class) and sixth period (my zaniest, but probably brightest, class) both have an impressive 95.4% average. Fifth period, my regular class, is holding steady with an 82.6%.

Entry filed under: GRADING. Tags: , , .

Dismal (I Think…?) Tests Seeking Grammar Help

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




