Job(less) Prospects

March 21, 2008 at 11:08 pm 2 comments

It’s spring break, which means that it is time to get serious about applying for jobs. I’ve got an appointment with the Career Center to go over my resume (I think it’s good, but I want it to be excellent) and I’m meeting with one of my English professors this week to write a recommendation letter. I’ve got an education professor on the line to do so as well, and am hopefully going to get letters from my supervisor, mentor teacher, and principal. Those are the important three, so I really need to keep on top of them.

Ugh. There is a lot of work I need to get done this week, when I would really prefer to be goofing off.

The biggest worry right now is whether or not I will actually get a job. I think I’ve been riding on this fantasy that I would get hired at CHS next year. There was a little bit of suggestion to that fact; I’d heard that there would be three job openings due to increasing student population and a teacher’s retirement. This week, however, the tune seemed to change. And, because I needed to know, I asked DR about it today. She confirmed my fears: it doesn’t really look like there will be any openings at CHS after all. In fact, there will likely be no openings in the entire district.

This is not a good thing.

I’ve heard that there’s going to be a part-time opening at CeHS (in the district from which I graduated high school) but part-time is kind of rough. Better than nothing, I guess, but I need benefits and I’m not sure they come with the PT gigs. It would be kind of cool, gotta admit, to teach in the same building as Mr. Bees for a semester. The style of education out in the M School District doesn’t appeal to me nearly as much as in the B School District – it’s much more regimented and less progressive – but it’s a nice, “clean,” secure district. Within reasonable driving distance as well.

The rational side of me is confident that something will turn up, and that it will be all for the best in the end. But the emotional, nervous, realistic-about-the-way-things-work side of me is concerned. After all, neither Mr. Bees nor I are currently bringing in any money (unless you count his unemployment checks, which will dry up before too long). He will still be student teaching in the fall, and won’t be able to hold a job. If I don’t get a job, we’re going to run out of savings, and then we’re going to lose the house and goodness knows what else. Definitely a less than ideal set of circumstances.

Mr. Bees and I went all-in on this whole “teaching” thing, and our gamble really needs to pay off.

On the plus side, Mr. Bees’ mentor teacher is friends with a government teacher at BoHS (far from the best school in the area) who will be retiring next December – just as Mr. is graduating and ready for a job. We had planned on him substitute teaching until the regular hiring season, but it looks as though some foundation is being laid for him to take this position. Desperately trying not to count the chickens. But it would be a job, teaching his preferred subject area, and in the B School District (which is definitely preferred).

Of course, ideally, we need to be teaching in the same district for insurance reasons.

I just don’t know. I’m stressing. I think perhaps the largest part of it all is disappointment. I’ve really grown attached to CHS. I love the building, the teachers, the administration, the kids. I love that it is Jock High, and I really can’t even begin to explain why. I’ve had this idea for the past several weeks that I would get to see these kids grow up from squirrely sophomores to near-adult seniors – maybe even teach them again, depending on what grade I ended up with. And now… not so much. It’s all about starting over again, and I’ve never dealt particularly well with forced change.

Keeping my head up. It will all work out in the end.

Entry filed under: JOB HUNT, MR. BEES. Tags: , , , .

Final Straw Dismal (I Think…?) Tests

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dkzody  |  March 27, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    There will be students who need to be taught; there will be teachers who will retire; there will be jobs, but they may not show up until September. Do not panic, do not feel depressed. See if you can teach summer school somewhere, anywhere, just to keep your hand in and make some money. Be willing to do a long-term sub job in the fall. If you want a job bad enough, it will come. You just must keep believing. This comes from someone who 20 years ago did not have a job lined up and was told to not get comfortable with her long term sub position. Twenty years later, I’m comfortable. <vbg.

    Reply
  • 2. Kit  |  April 1, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    Yes, things will work out. You are a talented, motivated, creative, intellectual individual. You will find your place and your students will be lucky to have you. Good things are coming…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




