Final Straw

March 12, 2008 at 7:14 am Leave a comment

By way of preface: because I am exhausted and something related to the woefully insufficient term “overworked,” I haven’t been blogging. As a result, you haven’t heard all of the great stuff about student teaching. You haven’t heard daily reports on how much I love what I’m doing, or how much I adore my students, or how much of a rush it is to teach Shakespeare and realize that they’re GETTING it – and then to have your mentor teacher tell you that it this has nothing to do with the class or the material, but rather your teaching style.

You haven’t gotten all of the good stuff (which is, statistically speaking, 99.99% of my experience). And so, this post won’t carry quite the punch it deserves.

You see, this camel’s back has finally been broken. You know how everyone was telling me that I had better love what I was doing now, because come March I wouldn’t be so enamored any more? Well, they were right. I am fed up – FED UP, I tell you! – with this whole student teaching experience.

And what, pray tell, was the final straw?

Acne.

You know how when a lot of girls live together, their bodies sense one another’s hormones and affect one another’s biological cycles? Well, APPARENTLY, it is not unheard of for a new teacher’s body to sense that it is spending every day in a veritable cesspool of adolescent hormones, and for said body to then – at some really screwed-up level – decide that it is in fact the body of a teenager as well.

I never had skin problems as a teen, and rarely get a blemish as an adult. I don’t break out when I’m stressed, either. This week, I am sporting not one, not two, but TWELVE little carefully-concealed facial friends.

This, to quote my husband as he laughed at me, is a TERRIBLE job. 🙂

Entry filed under: TALES FROM SCHOOL.

Batteries. Seriously. Job(less) Prospects

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




