Batteries. Seriously.

March 10, 2008 at 3:32 pm 3 comments

Talk about a comedy of errors…

This weekend, obviously, was Daylight Savings Time. (You can probably already see where I’m going with this.) I was actually on top of it; I reset my clock, double-checked my alarm, the whole nine yards.

This morning, I woke up before the alarm went off. The first thing I thought was, “Wow, it’s really sunny out – that seems odd.” Then I remember Daylight Savings Time, and relaxed. I brought my watch up to my face (about half an inch from my nose, with squinting, seems to do it) and blinked. Hard.

Blinked again.

Surely if I blinked enough times, my watch would stop lying to me, right? Surely it couldn’t REALLY be 8:30?!?

I don’t teach first period, but my second period started at 8:57. Mr. Bees – also still asleep – DOES have a first period. We live down by the university, which is – on a good morning – a 15-minute drive from either school. (We carpool.)

Turns out the power had glitched overnight. My internal alarm clock had woken me up in time to save me… that is, it WOULD have been in time, if my internal alarm clock acknowledged Daylight Savings.

Even worse? I am subbing today for my mentor teacher, which means that there was no one here to cover for my class until I got there.

Yell at husband to get up; duck blue streak of non-ISAT vocabulary as he leaps from the bed and toward his closet. Blearily look up CHS’s phone number, call the secretary, and ‘fess up my crime so that they can get another mentor teacher into my classroom until I arrive. No shower. No contacts. Throw on the clothes I wore to church yesterday. No breakfast. Forget the graded papers, forget the laptop – just get out the door.

Drive approximately 500 MPH all the way in. Call the school again to ask secretary to give start-of-lesson instructions to my stand-in; learn that she hasn’t even asked her to cover my room. Freak out all over.

Run into my classroom just as the video announcements end. My agenda board isn’t updated, my papers aren’t in order, I’m not even sure where my copy of A Midsummer Night’s Dream is. But I’m there, in time, before class even officially starts. It will all be okay.

After second period is break, and I desperately need two things. First, I need to put in my contacts. (I don’t see well through my glasses, because I am so very myopic.) Second, I need my large-size sugar-free Red Bull that I put in the teacher’s lounge fridge on Friday.

Contacts: check. Red Bull – oh, great. The regional dance competition was in CHS over the weekend, and apparently someone – dancer, coach, or judge, I don’t know which – felt it appropriate to pilfer my Red Bull.

In the end, the day went smoothly – and very quickly. I can’t pretend that it isn’t a small mercy that class is online tonight. But even without adequate preparation, it went okay.

That was luck, though. It could have been much worse. And what if I’d been unable to come at all? Are my lesson plans in order for a sub? Could I have clearly conveyed my plans for today to a stand-in, if I’d needed her to cover for an entire period?

To borrow a note from a friend, the moral of this story is threefold:

1. Get a battery-operated alarm clock, and keep the batteries fresh.
2. Be better organized than that – have lesson plans clear and ready to go.
3. Hide your Red Bull.

Entry filed under: BAD DAY.

Poetry Anthologies and Inadvertent Plagiarism Final Straw

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. eyeingtenure  |  March 10, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    The same thing happened to me today, except I just didn’t have my alarm turned on. Craaazy.

    I hate Daylight Savings Time.

    Reply
  • 2. eyeingtenure  |  March 11, 2008 at 12:54 am

    To Whom it May Concern: As of 7:30 a.m. PST tomorrow, tag.

    Reply
  • 3. Kit  |  March 14, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    Damn dancers…you can’t trust ’em. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




