Oh Good Grief.

January 18, 2008 at 3:04 pm Leave a comment

We’re on block schedule for finals weeks, which means that 5th period is there first thing in the morning. DR is out of the room for a moment, and I’m preparing the students for their test.

Belle, a gregarious kid, greets me, then asks, “Mrs. Bees, are those new pants?”

I smile. I’m proud of my new pants. It’s Friday – blue jeans and CHS shirt day – and I’m decked out. Fleece pullover in school colors over my CHS polo, and below the waist a pair of beautiful gray Anne Klein jeans I got for a pittance on clearance. Black belt, black boots. I feel good.

“Yeah, Belle, they are.”

“Cool,” she says.

Suddenly my teacher-alarm pings. I’ve missed something. Why would Belle know – or care – if my pants are new?

I raise an eyebrow at her inquisitively and, given her cue, she delivers her next line:

“Because you left the sticker on your butt.”

I grope behind myself.

“Other side.”

Sure enough, eight inches of 12 REGULAR 12 REGULAR 12 REGULAR 12 REGULAR are plastered, snickering, to my left buttock.

I do the first thing that comes to mind…

“Awesome,” I say. “Seriously, awesome.”

Belle is astonished. “Awesome? Why is it awesome?”

“Because I haven’t done anything this embarrassing since seventh grade, so that must mean that I’ve got another 15 years or so before I do anything like it again!”

Distracted by my sparkling logic, Belle turns to her bubble sheet to fill in her name, and I walk into the class’s back room to die.

Entry filed under: TALES FROM SCHOOL. Tags: .

Book Challenges Strike Close to Home Exciting Stuff Afoot!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




