Borrowed Words

October 12, 2007 at 1:01 pm Leave a comment

So DR caught a plagiarist this week.

It was one of the accelerated students. The assignment was to write a short credo, in the style of “All I need to know about life I learned from ____.” This student chose the Easter bunny as her role model – and lifted about half of her credo, word-for-word, off of one posted online in a few different places.

Sigh.

I asked DR what she was going to do. She’s giving the student zero points for the assignment, and wrote a note on the back letting her know that this was inappropriate and that a second attempt to “borrow” someone else’s work will result in removal from the class.

Technically, a teacher can have a student removed from the class upon the first infraction. This seems like a good solution to me, though. It makes it clear that she didn’t get away with it, provides fair warning, teaches the appropriate behavior, and sets the groundwork for later discipline as needed.

Entry filed under: BAD DAY. Tags: , .

Abusive Teachers Into the Lions’ Den

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




