Chain Mail

September 10, 2007 at 3:47 pm 1 comment

I couldn’t resist taking a picture when I tried on my chain mail last night.

First, a comment on the weight of a chain mail tunic: Holy. Crap.

Second, a comment on the difficulty of putting on chain mail: Wow.

Third, a comment on the hilarity of taking off chain mail: Oh, dear. That’s one for the To-Be-Repressed files.  

Okay, I have to go into more detail on that last point. I’m in the darn thing, and need out. Not only am I about to get a headache from the sheer weight of it, but Mr. Bees is clamoring for his turn. I start to reverse the putting-on process, but really don’t get anywhere. The links contract around curves, making it very difficult to get it over things like butts, hips, and other girly bits. I briefly consider doing the time-tested “turn the garment inside-out as you reverse it over your head” trick, but that’s a definite non-starter. WAY too much bulk. Mr. Bees grabs the shoulders and tries to pull it off of me, but it’s too heavy and at too weird an angle to manage it. Finally, I end up on my hands and knees on the bed, trying to keep my balance (and my hair) while a thirty-pound suit of metal is pulled off of my body.

This probably means that I will not be wearing this very often at school. Can you just imagine the scene in the teacher’s lounge when I try to get it off so I can relax on my lunch? 🙂

Anyway, it’s tremendously awesome. Feels amazing. It goes down to my knees and jingles when I move. I wore it over Mr. Bees’s heaviest long-sleeved t-shirt, which made for a glamorous ensemble. The right kind of girl could, under the right circumstances, have a lot of fun with that tunic, some black underthings, and some high boots.

It was also somewhat slimming, which is NOT reflected in the following picture. I really need to figure out what angles pack extra pounds onto me. Also, the picture on the wall isn’t really crooked, it’s just a strange angle there, too.

Without further ado:

chainmail.jpg

Entry filed under: FUN STUFF, MISCELLANEOUS. Tags: .

Fun Stuff Seems Fair… ;)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jennai Ell  |  September 10, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    lol

    maybe have someone stand on a chair to pull it off?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




