Answers!

August 16, 2007 at 3:32 pm Leave a comment

I received this email today! Finally, some sort of idea of what to expect…

I am the university supervisor for your teaching internship at C High School.

The type of university-school partnership that we are starting at CHS is a “Professional Development School” model. In part, that means that the English teachers and I will collaborate with you to see if we can make your teaching experiences more flexible and more useful to you than the traditional approach to student-teaching. This is likely to include, among other things, that you will probably work with several different teachers and grade levels at various times during the semester, rather than sticking with only one teacher or class. I will
also be talking with you early in the semester about where you are in your teaching preparation and the kinds of experiences that you feel would best prepare you to student teach and then establish your own classroom.

So while officially we have three CHS English teachers (DR, BB, and DB) who signed up to work with three of you, it won’t be quite that simple. I expect to meet with the teachers next week (Aug. 23 or 24) when they return to school, and I would like to meet with you as well so that I can match people up in a
way that makes the most sense for getting started.

Therefore, would you please reply to this email with:

1. Some possible times between August 23 and August 28 when you could meet with me either on campus or at CHS. (It would be great if we could find a time when all of us could meet together.) Plan for about a half hour meeting.

2. Let me know what times you expect to work at CHS this semester. (Remember that the minimum time requirement is 150 hours, or at least ten hours per week).

When we meet I will have more information for you about getting started in your internship. I look forward to hearing from you soon, and to working with you this semester.

BR

Entry filed under: MISCELLANEOUS. Tags: .

T-Minus Twelve Days Freaking. Out.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.




