Haiku

March 23, 2011 at 12:25 pm 1 comment

I haven’t posted in a long time despite the fact that there’s been a lot going on. I feel entirely overwhelmed when I try to imagine catching y’all up, but I can’t seem to bring myself to just skip over all of it. So I’ve come up with a bit of a compromise: I’ll review the “highlights” from the past several weeks – in haiku form. Enjoy.

OUR STATE’S NEW EDUCATION PLAN IN THREE PARTS
No more collective
bargaining! Evil union
members ruin schools.

Although merit pay’s
proven disastrous elsewhere,
let’s give it a shot!

Lay off teachers! Buy
unneeded laptops! Send cash
to school chief’s cronies!

ON TEACHING IN MY STATE
Can states be evil?
Or perhaps this state is just
criminally dumb.

TO MY STUDENT WHO FOUND OUT YESTERDAY THAT SHE’S MOVING TO ANOTHER STATE TODAY
Don’t cry, kiddo. It’s
hard to leave, but fresh starts are
priceless. We’ll miss you…

ON A PARTICULARLY BAD KID’S RESPONSE-TO-INTERVENTION MEETING
Sobbing math teacher
thinks mean teachers are to blame.
Have we the same kid?

ON EVALUATIONS
Fine – come unannounced,
first class, human chess day, and
ding my transitions. :P

TO OUR STATE SUPERINTENDENT OF SCHOOLS AND THE REPUBLICANS WHO SUPPORT HIM
You feel teachers are
fat cat lazy union thugs.
I feel you’re hellbound.

ON A STUDENT I’D RESPECTED WHO I’VE LEARNED IS IN LEGAL & DRUG TROUBLE
What I can say? Would
you listen if I told you
how you break my heart?

ON MEETINGS
One, two, three a week?
Stop calling me a teacher;
I’m now a meeter!

ON THE REST OF THE YEAR
Wait – I have only
fifteen days for test prep and
Midsummer? Aaa-aaaaaaahhhh!

Yes, “aaa-aaaaaaahhhh” is two syllables (at a minimum).

Entry filed under: ASSESSMENT, PLANNING AND DOING, POLITICS, STUDENTS. Tags: .

Lewd and Clueless The Martian Sagas

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. OKP  |  March 23, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    If all your catch-up posts are going to be this good, then keep putting us off!

    (No. Don’t.)

    I hear you…and agree.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.

Recently Written




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

