Lewd and Clueless

March 1, 2011 at 1:41 pm 3 comments

I have a lot of more serious posts to write, assuming I ever get around to it, but before I can do that I have to share something TAR-worthy.

We’re doing that thing (I’m sure it has a name) where you have an inner circle and an outer circle, and they pair up and discuss something, and then one circle rotates until they find a new partner, and then they discuss a new topic or more on the first… What in the blue blazes is that called, anyway? Whatever it is, it works very well…

Anyway, we’re doing that thing, which means that kids are sitting on the floor. And this kiddo in particular – we can call him Larry if you’d like – has taken the opportunity to roll up his pants legs to mid-calf. I can’t resist comment.

ME: Are you trying to persuade your partner by showing off a little leg?

LARRY: Ha – yeah, I think that’ll work.

ME: Rocking the man-capris today, I see.

LARRY: Yep. You know it.

ME: Is that the new fashion trend for spring? Man-capris? [To Larry's female discussion partner] I think he might ought to shave first, though.

LARRY: No way. [Rubs the leg hair on his calves.] This is my manhood here.

ME: [Blinking; heroically keeping a straight face.] That’s your manhood?

LARRY: Yep.

[Girls are giggling. Larry is oblivious. A couple of his guy friends look over, smirking, probably wondering whether it would be funnier to clue him in or watch him dig himself into a hole.]

FEMALE STUDENT: That’s a little disturbing.

LARRY: Okay, fine. I’ll put my manhood away.

[Much dissolving into giggles.]

ME: Did you really just say that?

LARRY: What?

ME: I’m going to have to write that one down. Dear Diary. Today, one of my students said ‘I’ll put my manhood away.’

LARRY: Huh? Ohhhh!!!!!!

Entry filed under: FUN STUFF, STUDENTS, TALES FROM SCHOOL. Tags: .

Lovely… Haiku

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. madhousewife  |  March 1, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    That straight face was heroic.

    Reply
  • 2. Mrs. Chili  |  March 2, 2011 at 7:51 am

    Snort! How old are these kids?

    My high schoolers sometimes say dumb (and lewd) things, but they often catch themselves just as I’m raising an eyebrow at them.

    Reply
  • 3. M  |  March 2, 2011 at 9:31 am

    That is so fantastic! The best kind of conversations are when kids don’t realize they’re saying something stupid or inappropriate.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.

Recently Written




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

