Little Known Facts

December 8, 2009 at 11:02 am 2 comments

Junior English is a survey of American literature. Because the literature exists within the context of history, and because my kids tuned out every word their history teachers ever told them, I find myself trying to teach them a little bit of historical context along with the literature. For this past unit, I even brought in a guest speaker to teach them some of the more titillating (in an appropriate degree, of course) things about our nation’s beginnings.

I recently graded their quizzes over colonial and Revolutionary War-era literature. There were two questions on the back, asking for three facts they’d learned about Benjamin Franklin and Thomas Jefferson, respectively.

Just in case you, too, would like to know more about these fine men, I’ve included some responses from my students below.

Little Known Facts About Benjamin Franklin

  • he stoked himself
  • he played with Zink Baperis
  • gave up to go home
  • he did not have wooden teeth
  • Ben was the 1st president
  • he died
  • he helped with the light
  • he was big President
  • In vented Electricity
  • he was a Fat Man

Little Known Facts About Thomas Jefferson

  • sleped with his slaves
  • who-ha
  • he didn’t like the laws
  • invnted Stuff
  • that where an the decleration
  • he was tall
  • wrote letters to John
  • he was a boy
  • liked being naked
  • made his half sister
Entry filed under: GRADING, STUDENTS. Tags: .

No-vember Sans Guidelines

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. OKP  |  December 8, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    That light in the distance is not me learning. It is my head exploding.

    I need to get these facts to Wikipedia! Stat! ;)

    Reply
  • 2. Alycia  |  December 9, 2009 at 4:10 am

    It’s actually a bit amusing to find kids there are us STUPID as kids here! Love it! Love the spelling the most of course!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Bee’s Knees

This is the teaching journal of a student first-year second-year THIRD-YEAR (!!!) English teacher. I am writing this blog as a reflection for myself, a way to keep friends and family updated, and a sharing-ground between other educators online. I love comments!

I am striving to maintain anonymity on this blog so that I may more freely interact with my fellow edubloggers. If you know who I am, please help me protect my anonymity in your comments. I use pseudonyms or initials for everyone I write about to preserve their anonymity as well.

Recently Written




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

